Wednesday, October 24, 2012

Drain You Blog Hop Post!

 Brace yourself for a new book you are going to want to check out! After reading all of the reviews and watching the teaser trailer I cannot wait to read Drain You. You can get the book at Amazon as well as Barnes&Noble. Go get it!..what are you waiting for?! Keep an eye out for my review of this book coming soon!

Book Description:  "Summer. The 90s. The rich, sun-bleached neighborhoods of the Los Angeles canyons. Enter Quinlan Lacey, a cool, bored, sarcastic, sexy 17-year old with a dull part-time video store job and a mild case of teen ennui. That is, until she meets the alluring, River Phoenix-esque James, and realizes the hills are alive with the undead. Inspired more by the early, dry L.A. short stories of Bret Easton Ellis than the current crop of serialized vampire fiction, the supernatural grunge romance, Drain You, narrates the headaches and heartbreaks Quinn undergoes in her quest to stay sane and cool and in love and alive."

Publisher Weekly Review"Bloom debuts with a languid, stylish novel that reads like a love letter to cult vampire flicks like The Lost Boys, the work of Francesca Lia Block, and Southern California in the 1990s." 


Check out the trailer: 



 Tell me you don't want to read this book after checking out all of that! That's not all though..there is also a giveaway..and come on who doesn't like free stuff? Especially free book related stuff? If you don't, I think you may be in the wrong place. :P

Enter for your chance to win a great bunch of prizes!a Rafflecopter giveaway



Did I mention the author is also completely awesome?! Well yea she is! Check her out for yourself:






 About Beth:

"Bloom's first short story “Love And Other Catastrophes: A Mix Tape” was featured in Story Quarterly and selected by Dave Eggers for inclusion in The Best American Nonrequired Reading: 2003 (Houghton-Mifflin), which he curates annually. Bloom is the founder of underground dance label 100% Silk (profiled here in LA Weekly) AND the producer/lead singer of the band LA Vampires (written up in The Guardian as well as Pitchfork and Fader). Her next book will be published through HarperTeen.






M. Beth lives on the east side of L.A. where she indulges in raw fooding, magazine subscribing, thrift shopping, Sunday matinee'ing, and ladies book clubbing."



You can,and should, check out her Facebook and Twitter as well!



Don't forget to check out the earlier posts in the blog hop, you can click on the Drain You banner on the side of the page to visit Mundie Moms and click the blog name linked in this post to visit hobbitsies!

Monday, October 15, 2012

Untraceable review/ Uncontrollable giveaway

Untraceable
By S.R. Johannes E-Book, 315 pages 
Published November 29th 2011
By: Coleman & Stott
ISBN: 0984799125 

Book source: Personal Copy
5 Stars

What Goodreads has to say16-year-old Grace has lived in the Smokies all her life, patrolling with her forest ranger father who taught her about wildlife, tracking, and wilderness survival.

When her dad goes missing on a routine patrol, Grace refuses to believe he’s dead and fights the town authorities, tribal officials, and nature to find him.

One day, while out tracking clues, Grace is rescued from danger by Mo, a hot guy with an intoxicating accent and a secret. As her feelings between him and her ex-boyfriend get muddled, Grace travels deep into the wilderness to escape and find her father.

Along the way, Grace learns terrible secrets that sever relationships and lives. Soon she’s enmeshed in a web of conspiracy, deception, and murder. And it’s going to take a lot more than a compass and a motorcycle (named Lucifer) for this kick-butting heroine to save everything she loves


My Review:  First off just take a moment to marvel at that cover! I absolutely love the cover of this book, it is mysterious and beautiful. The cover is what initially drew me to this book but the story did not disappoint. I really enjoy books that have a strong female and Grace is by far one of my favorite heroines ever. She is the epitimy of strong, when her father goes missing she is the only one who keeps looking for him, she never gives up hope that he is still alive. She can hold her own and has no problem traveling alone in the wilderness. She has the skills, skills she learned from her father, to keep herself alive and she is not afraid to fight for what she believes is right. The storyline has so many twist and turns and it kept me guessing right up until the very end. You may want to get out the tissues because this book will pull at your heartstrings.The story kept me on the edge of my seat and I couldn't put the book down until I was finished. You can get Untraceable here and check out the authors website here!

The sequel to this book, Uncontrollable, is out now and to celebrate I will be giving 1 ebook copy of Uncontrollable away! All you have to do is enter the rafflecopter below. Note: This giveaway will only run for 24hrs on October 15th so better get your entry in! a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, September 24, 2012

Uncontrollable Is out!

Yay! Uncontrollable is out today!

Uncontrollable is the second book in "The Nature of Grace" series by S.R. JohannesUntraceable, the first book in the series, has won and been nominated for several awards including Winner of the 2012 IndieReader Discovery Award (YA), 2012 Georgia Author of the Year (YA Nominee), and a finalist in The Kindle Book Review's "Best Indie Book of 2012 (YA)".

Kirkus reviewed Untraceable as "A thrilling story is a dramatic entanglement of mystery, deception and teen romance.  The action flows like a brisk mountain stream interspersed with rapids, holding suspense to last page."

If you like a page turner, you will love this series!

Head over to Mundie Moms for a Big Uncontrollable Launch Party with tons of prizes and then over to SR Johannes blog for even more.

To continue on with the blog tour, check out the line up! Where SR talks about anything from marketing to writing to her books to personal interviews and giveaways.

Book Summary

As 16-year-old Grace recovers from tragedy, her science class is chosen by Agent Sweeney at the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service to help with research on the new "Red Wolf Reintroduction Program". 

While she’s excited about helping with the conservation of the endangered wolves, Grace knows this means being outdoors in the worst winter recorded, in a place she no longer feels comfortable. It also means working closely with Wyn (her ex) and his annoying girlfriend (Skyler), a girl whose idea of getting close to nature is picking silk plants and growing fake plants. 

After a couple of wolves show up dead, Grace almost quits. However, when a fellow project team member goes missing, Grace continues the assignment under a renewed suspicion that someone might be sabotaging the conservation program. She quietly begins to hunt for clues. 

Little does she know, she is being hunted too. 

On Sale Now! 

Uncontrollable is on sale in paperback and ebook at all major
booksellers including Amazon, iBooks/Apple (coming soon),

If you haven't read Untraceable, you can get it in paperback and ebook
at all major booksellers including AmazonAppleSmashwords,
and B&N.


Author Bio

S.R. Johannes is the author of award-winning and Amazon bestselling Untraceable (a teen wilderness thriller) and new tween paranormal, On The Bright Side. She has also published short novelettes as well as a teen romance anthology with 16 other authors titled, In His Eyes.  Uncontrollable, the sequel to Untraceable, is scheduled for September 2012.

S.R. Johannes is a winner of the 2012 IndieReader Discovery Awards (Young Adult) and was also recently nominated for 2012 Georgia Author of the Year (Young Adult). Untraceable was also recently named a Finalist in The Kindle Book Review's Indie Book of the Year (YA)

After earning an MBA and working in corporate America, S.R. Johannes traded in her expensive suits, high heels, and corporate lingo for a family, flip-flops, and her love of writing.  She lives in Atlanta, Georgia with her dog, British-accented husband, and the huge imaginations of their little prince and princess, which she hopes- someday- will change the world. 


Connect!

Follow S.R. online on her websiteTwitterFacebook, and Pinterest

You can also sign up for her newsletter to keep up on author or book news.

Tuesday, September 18, 2012

Book Review: Change the World Before Bedtime

Change the World Before Bedtime
By Josh Chalmers, Mark Kimball Moulton and Karen Hillard Good
ISBN: 978-0-7643-4238-7
ASIN: 9780764342
Ebook: 32 pages
First published August 1st 2012
By: Schiffer Publishing, Ltd.
Book Source: Publisher
5 Stars
Goodreads summary: Written in simple, engaging rhyme, this story takes an inspirational look into how the little things in life a smile, a kind word, a simple deed can help change the world in a big way. Through 18 stunning illustrations, children will read about eating right, cleaning up the Earth by recycling and conserving, helping the sick and those less fortunate, and working in a group to make bigger miracles. Even an ordinary kid can be a superhero before bedtime! Grades Pre-K to 2.
Marisa's Review: I read this book in e-copy and I really enjoyed it. It talks a lot about the golden rule ‘do unto others as you would have them do unto you’. It is about how the small things in life can really help someone and make their day and therefore “Change the World Before Bedtime”. We often overlook the small things and think we have to do something big to make a difference when the reality is the small things make the most impact. This book grounds us and reminds us that the small things aren’t small at all. I am very happy I had the opportunity to read this book. I hope the schools purchase it for the library. I know many kids who would read this and feel inspired.
About the Authors:
Mark Kimball Moulton:
Author/Photographer Mark Kimball Moulton was born and raised in Danbury, Connecticut, and graduated from the University of Connecticut with a Bachelor of Science degree in Horticulture.
He is a seasoned traveler and avid outdoorsman who enjoys hiking, biking, kayaking and cross country skiing.
Mark also enjoys renovating period homes. His most recent endeavor, Sparrowood of Avon, is a vintage farmhouse in Connecticut and serves as a testament to his passion for nature and belief in a simpler way of life.
 
 
Karen Good:
Our dear friends are all around and my best friend, Mark Kimball Moulton (author extraordinaire) lives five doors up the road.
Riverton is our very own Brigadoon . . . only it’s real!
My husband, Bob & I are renovating this 1822 Red Brick Colonial which is perched smack dab in the middle of our town of Riverton. Right next door is the Riverton General Store (which has been in continuous operation since the late 1800′s) where we all meet regularly for coffee and catch up on the latest gossip . . . oops, I mean news!
Riverton is nestled in the valley of People’s Forest and bordered by two wild and scenic rivers, The Farmington and The Still.
 

Josh Chalmers: Has contacted me with his bio and picture. Thank you Josh!
Josh Chalmers is the CEO (Cheerfully Eager Overachiever) of Earth2, a company that develops socially responsible products, programs and properties. Motivated by a personal and professional mission statement to change the world before bedtime, Josh has designed a company that mobilizes creative and strategic partnerships between for-profit and non-profit projects and companies, to drive revenue, support and awareness to organizations that strive to improve conditions for under-served children, families and institutions.
In 2012, Earth2 launched the Earth2 Edibles philanthropic specialty food division, with a first product, Not Your Mama’s Marinara, hitting shelves in Connecticut and growing into New York, Rhode Island, and Massachusetts by the end of the year. In addition, Earth2 inspired and collaborated on a new children’s book, Change The World Before Bedtime, published by Schiffer Publishing. Earth2 Events continues to produce socially responsible parties, weddings and fundraisers, and Earth2′s Prints Charming division launches a new line of stationery and special event cards in 2013. Earth2′s ongoing real estate projects, Arcadia and CoolCampus are in development in New England, and the initiatives WELLfed and ARTrageous, focused on the support of clean water systems and school arts programs respectively, will grow in the coming months.
Josh, born and raised in New York City and a graduate of Columbia University, is based on the Connecticut shoreline. For more information, please visit www.earth2company.com.
 

Monday, September 17, 2012

Book Review: Into the Pumpkin

Into the Pumpkin
By Linda Franklin
Hardcover, 56 pages
Published August 31st 2012
By: Schiffer Publishing, Ltd.
ISBN: 9780764341830
Book source:
4 Pumpkins
What Goodreads has to say: The fun of Halloween comes alive in this beautifully illustrated children’s book. The drawings, done each year by the author on the eve of Halloween, follow various “Halloween” characters as they prepare to celebrate this mystical holiday — pumpkins, witches, bats, ravens, black cats, scarecrows, spiders, ghosts, and more. Should they have their party in the graveyard or the pumpkin patch? Should they dress up or simply go as themselves? Take a ride on the witch’s broom and enter the pumpkin for a magical trip both you and your kids will not soon forget. Pre-K through 6th.
Marisa's Review: I love the art in this book! It is abstract yet obvious and has so many warm autumn colors, even the spider is cute (yes you read that right). The story itself is really cute and has a good poetic rhythm to it allowing you to get through it quickly.
For a child who is in grade 1 or so you could really turn it into a sing-song type book and have them memorize it. If you are using this book in the classroom, be it home school or public school you could easily have your child pick one of the beautiful pieces of art to make for Halloween decorations while learning about art techniques. I normally wouldn’t recommend this, however my children studied Matisse in grade 1 and each student did a piece of art copying one by Matisse.
If you are opposed to Halloween then I think it is fairly obvious to not purchase this book because it does talk about ghosts and skeletons and witches and the other “Pagan” things we love about Halloween. 
That said, it is in no way a scary book and I recommend it for kids of all ages as the pictures are interesting to my old eyes and the words are very sweet and easy to read. I can see a lot of potential for this book depending on how you choose to use it.
About the Author:  Linda Franklin is an award-winning artist whose work is widely exhibited in private collections throughout the United States. She is also a celebrated teacher who has launched many aspiring artists onto careers of their own.
 

Thursday, August 16, 2012

Steam Powered Giraffe

I just wanted to do a quick post about this band that I have recently fallen in love with! That band is Steam Powered Giraffe. Not only do these guys look badass, they also have some incredibly unique music. I find myself listening to them on an almost daily basis at this point. I mean look at this! ---------->
Yea amazing I know! At the moment my favorite song by them is Electricity is in my soul. Here they are preforming one of my other favorite songs titled Automatonic Electronic Harmonics. I would definitely suggest you check out their webpage here and their facebook here to learn more about them.

Tuesday, July 17, 2012

The Calling

http://photo.goodreads.com/books/1266460784l/6020071.jpg


The Calling
by David Mack
Publish Date: July 21st 2009
by Gallery Books
4 Stars


What Goodreads has to say:
HEAR THE CALLING. No one would guess by looking at Tom Nash that he's extraordinary, and that's just fine with him. A tall, broad-shouldered jack-of-all-trades from Sawyer, Pennsylvania, Tom has a knack for fixing things. He also hides a secret talent: he hears people's prayers. Stranger still, he answers them. Maybe it's because he's a handyman, but Tom feels compelled to fix people's problems. Which is all well and good -- until the soul-shattering plea of a terrified girl sends him on the darkest journey of his life....

 SEEK THE TRUTH 

 Heeding the call and leaving his home for New York City, Tom discovers a secret world beyond the range of mortal perception -- a world of angels and demons and those who serve them. With the guidance of a knowing stranger named Erin, Tom learns that he himself is one of The Called, born with a divine purpose and a daunting task: to help the powers of Heaven in the war against the agents of Hell, an army of fallen angels known as the Scorned. Thrust into an epic battle of the sacred and the profane, Tom Nash must find the girl who prayed for his help -- because her fate will determine whether humanity deserves to be saved, or damned for all eternity....

Elina's Review: I was looking for a good book to read when I came across one that caught my interest as soon as I saw the description. The story was exactly the kind I have been looking for but I wasn't sure if it existed. I checked it out of the library and was hooked from the first page. It was everything I expected it to be. A supernatural thriller about good vs. evil. A man named Tom hears when other people pray for help and does anything he can to help them because he feels it is his purpose and his calling to do so. Unaware that there are others with the ability like his to hear prayers, he meets Erin when he is working alone and nearly gets killed. They team up to help find a kidnapped girl. The "scorned", those who do not want them to succeed, make it a life or death mission. The two head from one dangerous situation to the next and keep you on the edge of your seat hoping they make it out alive, defeat the evil and save the girl.  I found the storyline to be very engaging. It was full of twists and turns that kept me guessing what was going to happen next. I almost felt as though I was watching a movie and in these character's world. It is definitely worth a read. I loved it and am so glad I discovered this book. I highly recommend it to anyone who likes fantasy, action, and mystery/crime. Read this book, you won't be disappointed. David Mack is an amazing writer.



About the Author: David Mack is the national bestselling author of more than twenty novels and novellas, including Wildfire, Harbinger, Reap the Whirlwind, Precipice, Road of Bones, Promises Broken, Rise Like Lions, and the Star Trek Destiny trilogy: Gods of Night, Mere Mortals, and Lost Souls. He developed the Star Trek Vanguard series concept with editor Marco Palmieri. His first work of original fiction is the critically acclaimed supernatural thriller The Calling.

In addition to novels, Mack's writing credits span several media, including television (for episodes of Star Trek: Deep Space Nine), film, short fiction, magazines, newspapers, comic books, computer games, radio, and the Internet. He also co-authored Bryan Anderson's nonfiction Iraq War memoir, No Turning Back: One Man's Inspiring True Story of Courage, Determination, and Hope.

His latest novel is the new Star Trek Vanguard novel Storming Heaven, and his upcoming projects include an epic 24th-century Star Trek: The Next Generation trilogy titled Cold Equations, and a new original supernatural thriller.

Mack resides in New York City with his wife, Kara.
 

Sunday, July 8, 2012

Blow Fly by Patricia Cornwell

Blow Fly
by Patricia Cornwell
Published date September 7th 2004
by Berkley
4 Stars

What Goodreads has to say: Readers are in for the shock of Kay Scarpetta's life.

Marisa's Review: Blow Fly is number 12 in the “Scarpetta” series by Cornwell. Dr. Kay Scarpetta, medical examiner, has lost everything important to her and her career and life is suffering because of it. She has lost her job and has begun consulting on certain cases. Her family and friends are very concerned about her safety and her health and what the past has done to her. She receives a letter about a particular case that is directly linked to her losses and it brings her to the Bayou where her life, Marino’s (a long-time friend and police investigator) and Lucy’s (Kay’s genius niece), all become wrapped in this hunt to find the killer before he strikes again. In the meantime Kay is manipulated without her knowledge into going to places that are very dangerous, all carefully orchestrated by this murdering family of sociopaths. Will Kay, Marino and Lucy find the killer in time with all the twists, turns and predators of the bayou? Will Lucy’s secret be revealed and will Kay get the missing pieces of her life back? This book has many twists and turns and is a very easy and quick read. It has 124 chapters making it easy to pick up and put down for someone who is busy without having to stop half way through a chapter. It is easy to follow and offers the right amount of information and suspense while keeping you on your toes. I give this book two thumbs up. I have moved on to number 14 in the series, "Predator", and I am already glued to each page eager for more. 

About the Author:  Patricia Cornwell sold her first novel, Postmortem, while working as a computer analyst at the Office of the Chief Medical Examiner in Richmond, Virginia. At her first signing, held during a lunch break from the morgue, Patricia sold no copies of Postmortem and fielded exactly one question – an elderly woman asked her where she could find the cookbooks.

Postmortem would go on to win the Edgar, Creasey, Anthony, and Macavity awards as well as the French Prix du Roman d’Aventure prize – the first book ever to claim them all these distinctions in a single year. To date, Cornwell’s books have sold some 100 million copies in thirty-six languages in over 120 countries. She’s authored twenty-three New York Times bestsellers.

Patricia’s novels center primarily on medical examiner Kay Scarpetta along with her tech-savvy niece Lucy and fellow investigator Pete Marino. Over twenty years, these characters have grown into an international phenomenon, eventually winning Cornwell the Sherlock Award for best detective created by an American author, the Gold Dagger Award, the RBA Thriller Award, and the Medal of Chevalier of the Order of Arts and Letters for her contributions to literary and artistic development.

Friday, June 22, 2012

New Addition!



Hi Everyone! I know it has been far too long since I have last posted. I am super excited to announce that I have a new contributor to the blog. Her name is Elina and she was nice enough to offer to post reviews so that the blog can be updated more regularly since I have been so busy with work and have not been able to update nearly as often I would like. She will post her first review soon so be on the watch for it! If you would be interested in writing reviews for Little Birdie Reviews feel free to email me!

Friday, June 1, 2012

Special Cover Reveal..The Collector

I am beyond excited to be part of this cover reveal! I want to thank the author for allowing me to participate. I cannot wait to read this book.
Here is a quick description of the main character and the story:
Dante Walker is flippin’ awesome, and he knows it. His good looks, killer charm, and stellar confidence have made him one of hell’s best—a soul collector. His job is simple, weed through humanity and label those round rears with a big red good or bad stamp. Old Saint Nick gets the good guys, and he gets the fun ones. Bag-and-tag.
Sealing souls is nothing personal. Dante’s an equal opportunity collector and doesn’t want it any other way. But he’ll have to adjust, because Boss Man has given him a new assignment:
Collect Charlie Cooper’s soul within 10 days.
Dante doesn’t know why Boss Man wants Charlie, nor does he care. This assignment means only one thing to him, and that’s a permanent ticket out of hell. But after Dante meets the quirky, Nerd Alert chick he’s come to collect—he realizes this assignment will test his abilities as a collector, and uncover emotions deeply buried. Sounds good right?! Well I wont keep you waiting any longer..feast your eyes on this smoking cover!
Drooling yet? If someone was coming to collect my soul I would definitely want it to be Dante. Of course I cannot end this post without mentioning the author. This is what Victoria Scott has to say about herself: I’m a YA writer with a die-hard affection for dark and humorous books. My work is represented by the fabulous Laurie McLean of Larsen-Pomada literary agency. I have a master’s degree in marketing, and am a member of the Writers’ League of Texas and Teen Shiver.
My first YA book, THE COLLECTOR, will be published by Entangled Teen in 2013. And my short story, FOUR HOUSES, is available now through Amazon and Barnes & Noble.
I currently live in Dallas with my husband, Ryan.
You can check out her website here!

Sunday, May 27, 2012

Giveaway Ideas...I want your input

 
I have been brainstorming about my next giveaway. Currently I have these two books sitting on my shelf that I would love to give to someone else to enjoy. However I am open to giving away other things such as nail polish, summer themed things and stuff like that. That is where you come in! I want to know what kinds of things you want to win. Nothing crazy expensive obviously as I am a collage student with a part time job and I dont make much. :) That being said I am open to considering all reasonable ideas. Ideas for giveaway themes are also welcomed. I am thinking I will put the giveaway together when I get to 20 blog followers. So leave a comment below with your ideas and send people to follow my blog so that we can get a new giveaway up soon!

Monday, May 14, 2012

Insurgent Review

Insurgent
by Veronica Roth
Published Date: May 1st 2012
by Harper Teen
3 1/2 stars

What Goodreads has to say: One choice can transform you—or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves—and herself—while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Tris's initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable—and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so.

New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth's much-anticipated second book of the dystopian Divergent series is another intoxicating thrill ride of a story, rich with hallmark twists, heartbreaks, romance, and powerful insights about human nature.


My Review: I could not wait for insurgent to come in the mail. When it finally did I ripped the box open, immediately began reading and did not stop until I was finished with the book. I liked that Roth jumped right back into the story, she didn't bother with a recap of Divergent. However the events of Divergent are referenced throughout the book so the reader still gets a reminder of how great the first book was. Tris and Four spend a good amount of time faction hopping in Insurgent. I enjoyed getting a closer look at the layout of the factions and how they worked. As much as I wanted to like this book more than the first truth be told I did not. Insurgent was good, and the story was interesting but I just didn't feel like it grabbed me the way Divergent did. It did not seem as fast paced and exciting and I found myself struggling a bit to reconnect to the characters. I loved Tris in Divergent but in Insurgent I felt she was extra reckless, she did not seem to put much thought into her actions and her relationship with four did not feel as strong. Overall I did enjoy the book I was just hoping for a little more. The big reveal at the end was fantastic and I cannot wait to see what Roth has to offer in the next book. 

About the Author: Veronica Roth is only 23, so her bio will be short. She’s from a Chicago suburb. She studied creative writing at Northwestern University, and wrote DIVERGENT (Katherine Tegen Books, May 2011) and INSURGENT (May 2012). The third and final book in The Divergent Trilogy, which doesn't have a title yet, will come out in Fall 2013. In the meantime she will spend endless hours browsing Wikipedia in her pajamas as she eats corn flakes. (Or some other kind of bland breakfast cereal.)

Thursday, May 10, 2012

The Dead-Tossed Waves

The Dead Tossed Waves
by Carrie Ryan
Published Date: March 9th 2010
by Delecorte Books for Young Readers
3 stars

What Goodreads has to say: Gabry lives a quiet life. As safe a life as is possible in a town trapped between a forest and the ocean, in a world teeming with the dead, who constantly hunger for those still living. She’s content on her side of the Barrier, happy to let her friends dream of the Dark City up the coast while she watches from the top of her lighthouse. But there are threats the Barrier cannot hold back. Threats like the secrets Gabry’s mother thought she left behind when she escaped from the Sisterhood and the Forest of Hands and Teeth. Like the cult of religious zealots who worship the dead. Like the stranger from the forest who seems to know Gabry. And suddenly, everything is changing. One reckless moment, and half of Gabry’s generation is dead, the other half imprisoned. Now Gabry only knows one thing: she must face the forest of her mother’s past in order to save herself and the one she loves.

My Review: After finishing the first book in the forest of hands and teeth series I was eager to start the next. The Dead-Tossed Waves starts off a few years after the ending of the first book. We are introduced to a new cast of characters, the main one being Gabrielle, Mary's daughter. I was excited by the introduction of new characters. I felt the author did a fine job of interweaving the new characters with the story told in the first book. She writes this story in a way that allows you to be drawn into the new story without completely forgetting the one that came before it. My favorite thing about this series so far is actually the zombies. I feel that frequently when reading books that include zombies I am unable to fully picture a zombie as described in the story as one that would truly frighten me. I have no problem imagining the ones described by the author in this book. The author leaves some mystery to the zombies while still providing enough information for the reader to picture a perfectly horrifying zombie. She writes about them in a way that makes it hard to just write them off as soulless dead people. The biggest disappointment of the book for me was that I felt it mirrored the first book to closely for my liking. Again the main character is pulled between two different boys, again the main character has a falling out with her best friend, and again a good portion of the story revolves around the characters finding their way through the forest. At parts the book was predictable however overall the author had enough surprises and twist in the book to keep me reading. I am hoping the next book will be a fresh story that does not involve a love triangle or the characters making their way back through the forest. Overall I am liking this series and I cant wait to move on to the 3rd book.


About the author: Carrie Ryan was born and raised in Greenville, SC and is a graduate of Williams College and Duke University School of Law. A former litigator, she now pursues her true passion and writes full time. Although Ryan's 2009 novel, THE FOREST OF HANDS AND TEETH, is set in a world roamed by the living dead, before meeting her fiance JP she was actually a self-proclaimed "scaredy-cat" who avoided horror movies. JP was the one who convinced her to go to her first zombie movie and opened a whole new world up to her, which is why she dedicated her first book to him. The second novel in The Forest of Hands and Teeth Series, THE DEAD-TOSSED WAVES, came out in 2010 and the final in the trilogy, THE DARK AND HOLLOW PLACES, will be out March 22, 2011. She lives in Charlotte, NC with two fat cats and one large puppy.


Monday, May 7, 2012

Pizza you have to try!

This post is a little different from the ones I have posted on the site so far. I guess it would fit into the and more category of the tag line. :) Today I want to share with y'all a pizza recipe that my boyfriend and I tossed together with amazing results! Delivery pizza can be expensive, and in my experience, can leave your stomach feeling not so great. Making pizza at home is not only fun, but it can also be cheap and it allows you to have complete control over your pizza. My boyfriend and I knew we wanted spinach and chicken on our pizza. In the end we came up with a pizza that was topped with spinach, chicken, feta cheese, shredded mozzarella cheese and sun dried tomatoes. We piled all of these delicious toppings onto a thin layer of pizza crust that we seasoned with a mixture of olive oil, dried oregano and dried basil. The pizza came out better than we could have ever expected! Our pizza before it went into the oven:

And our pizza after it came out of the oven:
Are you drooling yet? One of the things I love about this pizza is that we never measure anything! We use the same ingredients every time and we just toss on as much of each topping as we feel like on that day. This is just a general "recipe" for this pizza but you can customize it any way you want.

Things you need:
1 bundle of fresh spinach
1 jar of sun dried tomatoes (depending on how much you use 1 jar can last you for a while!)
1 Package feta cheese
1 bag shredded mozzarella cheese
1 pack of boneless skinless chicken tenders
1 pizza crust ( we use the Pillsbury ones that come in the biscuit cans)
1 bottle of your fav chicken marinade ( we use a lemon garlic bottled marinade)
Optional: Olive oil, dried oregano, dried basil (for seasoning the crust)

This is how we make ours:
  • First we roll out the dough on a dark flat cookie tray. We like to roll ours out thin but you can roll yours out to be as thick or as thin as you want.
  • We then pre-cook the crust for just a few minutes. On the Pillsbury crust can it tells you how long..we usually cook it for about 5 minutes. While the crust is cooking we line up all of our ingredients. 
  • I then chop up 2-3 chicken breast tenders into little cubes and toss them into a bowl full of our favorite marinade.
  • Then I chop up a handful of spinach that has been washed and dried. I just eyeball it and stop when I think I have enough. 
  • I like to get the sun dried tomatoes that come in a jar and are pre-chopped. I have also gotten the ones that come whole in the jar and both work just fine. If I am using the pre-chopped ones I use 1-2 regular size spoons full. If I am using the whole ones I chop up 3-4 depending on the size. Again we just use as much as we feel like on that particular day. I always use a paper towel or two to drain off as much of the oil as possible off of the tomatoes. The ones I get come packed in a jar of oil.
  • While I am getting everything else ready my boyfriend cooks the chicken on the stove. ( He tosses the marinade right into the pan with the chicken and lets it cook out)
  • Once the crust comes out of the oven I toss together some olive oil, dried basil and dried oregano and I brush that mixture all over the hot crust.
  • I start topping the pizza by putting a layer of mozzarella cheese on the crust.
    Then I toss on the spinach and sun dried tomatoes. Next I spread the chicken around the pizza and then add another layer of mozzarella cheese. Finally I top it off with a few handfuls of feta cheese.
We toss the pizza in the oven for another 8-11 minutes until the cheese is melted and the crust begins to brown. Keep an eye on yours as the cooking time may be different depending on your crust type. The pizza takes little time to put together but it taste amazing! It taste fresh and the flavors really pop!  Since tasting our first pizza my boyfriend and I have cut out delivery pizza for the most part and make this pizza at least once a week.
Note: Some of these ingredients like the spinach, tomatoes, cheese, and chicken will last you for a few pizzas! We just bought a second jar of sun dried tomatoes and the first one lasted us at least 4 pizzas. This of course would depend on how much of each topping you use.
I will leave you with one last look at the delicious pizza you could be eating!


I love to cook almost as much as I love to read! If you make this pizza I would love to see pictures of how it turns out for you or if you have a favorite pizza recipe please feel free to share it!
 



Sunday, May 6, 2012

I have a good reason for being away...

Ruff!
Hi Guys! So I know the post have been lacking a bit the last few days. I just started a new job and my hours are crazy. I haven't been getting off work before 1am and by the time I get home I barely have the energy to eat dinner. I am hoping my schedule will be getting more regular soon and I will be able to get back to posting regularly. Until then here is a picture of some cute puppies I found on Google..Hope they at least make you smile :) 

Wednesday, May 2, 2012

Books To Read

Everyone has a to read list. Sometimes mine seems to go on for miles. Today I want to share some books I am looking forward to reading!

I per-ordered this one shortly after reading Divergent. I am expecting it in the mail any day now and I cannot wait to read it.

I came across this one on Goodreads and I am hoping to get the money to purchase it soon! The description on Goodreads grabbed my attention and I look forward to seeing if its as good as I am hoping it will be.


This one is a bit out of my reading comfort zone as i dont usually go for books like this. I am willing to give it a chance though and if its really good maybe I will start reading more books like this one. :)

What books are you looking forward to reading?
You can check out some more books on my to read list on my Goodreads page here.


Monday, April 30, 2012

And The Winner Is.....



Elina Ov! Congratulations on winning! I have already sent out an email to the address provided and I hope to hear from you soon! Thank you to everyone who participated in this giveaway, I hope you will all stick around and try again in my next giveaway.

Sunday, April 29, 2012

Book Cover Love

I absolutely love book covers. I know it should matter more whats inside the cover than the cover itself, but I cannot help but to be drawn to books with covers I like. That's not to say that I will not read a book just because I don't like its cover only that I am drawn faster to books that have covers that catch my eye. To celebrate this I thought I would post a few pictures of some of my favorite book covers.




These also happen to be some of my favorite books. I would love to see some of your favorite book covers! You can comment and tell me what your favorite book covers are or leave a link to a picture.